January 2012 Reading Stats

I am not one for New Year’s Resolutions.  However, I decided shortly after New Year’s to read more and better books and to keep track of what I’ve read.  I guess that is sort of a resolution.  In any case, I am itching to sum up my progress so far, so here are my stats for January…

# of Books Read: 9

Total Pages Read: 3822

Books Read:

Between Sisters by Kristin Hannah

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

The Magicians and The Magician King by Lev Grossman

The Knife of Never Letting Go, The Ask and the Answer, and Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

First They Killed My Father by Loung Ung

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

Favorite Book of the Month: Although I ranked the Chaos Walking trilogy (the three Ness books) the highest, I think The Magician King was my favorite.  It actually made me laugh out loud (then I had to explain what was so funny to my husband) and was delightful and amusing and although I cannot figure out why it was such a page-turner, it was.  Also, I can no longer fault it for leaving loose ends (my biggest complaint about the book) since I learned that there is a third book in the works.

Interesting Tidbit: I read two non-fiction books this month, which is pretty atypical for me… although both were memoirs of sorts and I am a sucker for stories told in the first person.

In the Works: I am currently reading Meg Rosoff’s What I Was and listening to Shirley Jackson’s We Always Lived in the Castle.  The Jackson book fulfills two goals I have for myself: listen to audiobooks more and revisit books I enjoyed as a child/teenager.  I am also discovering the 21st century apparently, as I have only recently started reading book blogs, checking out author’s websites, and learning that there are audiobooks I can check out from the library and put on my cell phone and listen to very conveniently.

What I Learned: It is always best to check out the entire trilogy from the library when possible.  I am no good with cliff-hanging.

Leave a Reply

