Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Save from Alien Abduction

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the pic also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is the Top Ten Books I’d Quickly Save If My House Was Going To Be Abducted By Aliens (or similar natural disaster).

For some reason I have interpreted the prompt to mean books I would save in case of my survival into a post-apocalyptic world… (the world was destroyed by aliens, I guess)

1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – This is a book I could (and do) read over and over again.  Can’t survive an apocalypse without this one!

2. Wheelock’s Latin – I figure if I am alone on the mostly deserted remnants of planet Earth, I will need a project.  My project will be to relearn Latin.  Who knows?  Maybe I can turn it back into a living language…

3. Harrius Potter et Philosophi Lapis by J.K. Rowling and Peter Needham – While I am relearning Latin, I will practice my mad skillz by translating Harry Potter from Latin into English.  Also, this book is sort of the jewel in the crown of my nerdiness… I belonged to a Harry Potter Latin translation group in college.  It was a blast.

4. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling – I’d probably want the English companion as a back-up for my Latin translation.

5. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling – The best of the HP books and in all the free time I’d have living a subsistence-based life in a post-apocalyptic world I’d try to recreate the rest of the series.  (I’m really trying to not cheat by counting my box set as one book!)

6. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – I need at least one book about how not to rebuild society.

7. Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner – A chick lit book for those times in which I need a feel-good, funny, easy read.

8. The Gospel of Germs by Nancy Tomes –  I could probably use a little more non-fiction than just a textbook.  This was probably the book that influenced me the most in my short career as a historian.  If you are curious, it is about how germ theory (that is, the notion that germs caused disease) influenced American culture, from doing away with the public drinking cup to decorating bathrooms in white tile to the consumption of products like Kleenex and Listerine.  It was also delightfully readable.  I’d take it with me.

9. The Lottery and Other Stories by Shirley Jackson – I will round out the collection by including some short stories.  Also, I feel I must preserve SJack for the next world.  She’s good.

10. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte – I have started this book two or three times and gotten a good way through it, but have never actually finished it.  I don’t hate the book, but can’t seem to keep interested in it… perhaps if it is one of my ten, I will actually finish it!

What are your top ten must-save books?

Leave a Reply

