Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Childhood Covers

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the pic also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is Top Ten Favorite Covers.

When I tried to remember the covers of books, I couldn’t get certain images out of my head and they were mostly childhood books.  I don’t think I pay as much attention to covers now (I rarely ever browse the shelves any more, so covers aren’t as important to my choosing process these days) as I did when I was a kid.  Also, the 80s and 90s brought us some very interesting covers, so I thought I’d share some of my childhood favorite covers…

Stardust by Alane Ferguson – I am pretty sure I bought this book at a book fair based on its cover/title.  I can’t tell you how much I loved this book.  I can’t tell you why I loved this cover, but the story itself was totally endearing.  (I used to reread this book in high school/college as a comfort-read.  It seems to have been lost since those days, though.)

Time Windows by Kathryn Reiss – I loved ghost stories when I was a kid.  And also dollhouses.  And also historical fiction.  This book (and its cover) featured all three.  Another book I kept rereading throughout my teens.

The Fifth of March by Ann Rinaldi – My 6th grade lit teacher LOVED Ann Rinaldi and I was really into historical fiction so I read these to make us both happy.  I remember checking this book out from the library both because of its distinctive cover and because it smelled like perfume.  You know that whole scent-is-sense-most-tied-to-memory thing?  Yeah, I will never forget what this book looked like because of its smell.  I can’t for the life of me remember anything about the plot beyond Revolutionary War.

Dawn by V.C. Andrews – Ok, I have never read any V.C. Andrews, but my mom used to read them when I was a very young.  And I LOVED the covers.  You know, they had the cutout and you’d open them up and there’d be a creepy family on the inside.  I thought that was the best thing ever.

 

The Wakefields of Sweet Valley by Francine Pascal’s ghostwriter – I really loved gimmicky covers as a kid (whatever, I still do), so this Sweet Valley cover where you’d open it up and it had all the historical characters was totally up my alley.

Mary Anne Saves the Day by Ann M. Martin – I loved all the BSC covers when I was a kid for reasons my adult self does not understand.  I chose to feature this one because it was the first BSC book I read, so I think the cover particularly drew me in.  I do not at all remember Mary Anne looking so young and Jenny (that’s the kid, right?  I don’t remember) looking so weird.  I do remember the yellow turtleneck with red skirt and pigtails.  And the thermometer.

The Girl with the Silver Eyes by Willo Davis Roberts – I had totally forgotten about this book, until it popped up on a google images search I did.  I think I just loved the flying toast, which now reminds me of the flying toaster screensaver from the early 90s…

Matilda by Roald Dahl – I remember how yellow this book was.  And then the stacks of books and the cute little Matilda dwarfed by all those books.  Too cute!!

Little House on Rocky Ridge by Roger Lea MacBride – Pretty much a formula for getting me to like a book as a kid was to make it about a little girl who liked to read and lived on the frontier.  I am not 100% sure this was the book I had in mind, but I was remembering a red little house spinoff book and this certainly looks like something I’d go for, seeing as it has a little girl with braids, on the frontier, clutching a book.

Happy Birthday, Kirsten! – Like the BSC covers, I loved all the American Girl covers.  This was probably one of my favorites because it had kittens on it.  Also, Kirsten is wearing a flower crown around her head.  I was a child who thought flower crowns were beautiful and begged my parents to buy me one at the Renaissance Fair.

So tell me, how do you judge books by their covers?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Childhood Covers

  1. Books from your childhood are so special aren’t they, I tend to feel fond of even the daggiest cover! I’ve always loved the cover of Matilda. She looks so tiny amongst all those books.

    I love book covers, I’m always picking up books because the cover catches my eye, and buying them all. I get burned, but I also find some real gems. 😀

    Here’s my list.

    • Yeah, I have had some really bad luck with buying based on covers, so I try to do more research before I buy. I suppose I need to cover browse at the library more often!

    • I had a lot of fun with this! I spend a lot of time reading reviews these days, so I hardly ever look at covers any more, which is a shame… I see so many cool ones on other people’s posts!

  2. These covers are so fun! I did enjoy those V.C. Andrews books back in the day and loved the cutout covers. Stardust and Time Windows looks like books I would have been drawn to.
    I can’t help but judge books by their covers, though they let me down occasionally.

    • Thanks! I re-read Stardust and Time Windows many, many times. I am so sad my mom got rid of all the books I had at her house, including those two… I’m pretty sure that Stardust is out of print!

Leave a Reply

