Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Deceivers

Top Ten Tuesday button

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is the Top Ten Books That Were Totally Deceiving– those books you pick up expecting something based on the cover or the summary or reviews and then you get something totally different.

I only have nine because I think I am getting sick and my brain is functioning on low.  Also note that this list just reveals what a judgy Judy that I am.  I judge books by the snippets on the back, random reviews/suggestions I find on the internet, movie previews, and my own blind sense of what I think I will like which sometimes makes me a literary snob and other times makes me afraid of classic old books.

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Foer cover

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer – I based my desire to read this book off the television ads for the movie.  Stupid move, I know, but I thought (and the summary for this book led me to believe) that this would be the cute and emotionally moving story about a boy touching the lives of others in the wake of the September 11th tragedy.  It turns out that this is more a generational saga with a heavy dose of eye-roll-inducing literary experimentation.  Not at all cute or moving.

Jeffrey Eugenides Middlesex cover

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides – I didn’t even finish this book because I started it thinking it would actually be about a boy raised as a girl and the complexities of gender, but it turned out to be a generational saga with a heavy dose of incest.  If your book is a generational saga, tell me in the summary.  Then I will avoid it like the plague.

anne of green gables

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery – I did not expect this book to be hilarious.  I guess I thought it’d be childish or boring or something.  SO WRONG.  I started listening to Anne of Avonlea at the gym the other night and was laugh-wheezing on the elliptical.

Cover of The Magicians by Lev Grossman

The Magicians by Lev Grossman – You will pick this up because you hear it is an adult Harry Potter.  Oh fun, magic school for college kids, you think.  And then you will read it and it will blow your mind with awesomeness, but you will wonder who in the world thought Harry Potter was an apt comparison.  You will also wonder why you keep listening to the quips on books which are designed to sell them.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Cover

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling – The first time I remember seeing this book I was in the ninth grade and my friend who was a bit of literary snob was reading it.  I think I made fun of her for reading a kid’s book because she took herself way too seriously (as did I).  And then I read it and I was shamed for thinking this was some lame-o kid’s book.

The Color Purple by Alice Walker cover

The Color Purple by Alice Walker – A friend of mine who is not a big reader gave this to me for my birthday.  I was not expecting to like it because it was award-winning and classic-y and those are usually signs that I will find something boring and hard to read.  I was wrong.  I loved this book.

Rot & Ruin Jonathan Maberry

Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry – I thought a book about zombies would have lots of action that would keep me glued to the pages.  I know, silly me.

the girls' guide to hunting and fishing

The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank – I picked this up at a thrift store over the summer because I remembered hearing a lot about it a while back as being the birth of “chick lit.”  This book felt a lot weightier and more literary than what I typically think of as chick lit.

clockwork angel by cassandra clare

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare – I was told by the internet that this book had the world’s best love triangle ever.  I wasn’t convinced that this love triangle was anything special or non-stereotypical.

What books deceived you?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Deceivers

  1. Great list! I started The Magicians, but did not finish. I think the book was due back at the library… I keep hearing great things – mostly “This is NOT the grown up’s Harry Potter! It’s totally different!” – but when I read it I didn’t really feel like we clicked. It wasn’t the book, it was me. We were moving in different directions, at different places in our lives… enter another cliche break-up line now 🙂

    • lol, it was oddly paced and started slow. I found myself complaining about it at first and then getting sucked in. I thought the second book was even better, too. But I can see how it is not everyone’s book and if you were looking for Harry Potter how you’d end up not liking it!

    • I loved The Magicians, but can see it would not be everyone’s cup of tea. It is much darker and a bit cynical than the Harry Potter/Narnia books it is compared to. I thought that worked and found it pretty funny, too.

  2. Great list! I’m totally with you on the Anne books. So hilarious! And I laughed when I read your post, because I also had a “laughing on the elliptical” moment in my post, though about a different book!

  3. I love that you put Anne on this list for making you laugh! I must disagree with you about Clockwork Angel, though; Prince had me in agony over what was happening with those three, hah. But it’s all a matter of personal taste anyway. 🙂 Nice picks!

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

Leave a Reply

