TGIF: Musical Stories

graphic courtesy of GReads

TGIF at GReads is a feature for recapping the week’s posts and answering a book-blogging question posed by Ginger.  I plan on joining in from time to time when I have some interesting thoughts on the question at hand.

This week the question is: Musical Stories: If you could read a book about any song, which song would you love to see written down in story form?

My favorite band ever is The Beatles.  When my husband and I first started dating I knew he was a keeper because we stayed up all night listening to Beatles music and talking.  Naturally, my pick for this is a Beatles song, “Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite.”

As you can tell, this is sort of an ominous, psychedelic circus song, which according to wikipedia was based on an antique circus poster John Lennon found.  I know there are a lot of circus books out there (and I haven’t read any, oops), but I don’t know if there are any psychedelic circus books out there.  I would like this book to be similar to Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, in that it should be trippy and creepy, yet lucid enough to make sense.  I think it would be interesting to have the story told from a similar viewpoint as the song– that of an advertisement for the circus.  Honestly, I am not sure how you would pull that off, but someone far more creative than myself will write this book and they will figure it out.  I think that describing the characters from an advertising standpoint would be pretty interesting, as people in a circus are both wanted and hated for their oddities and unusual talents.  We’d never get a real look at the characters, but that could make an interesting statement on mediated identities.  I also think it would be appropriate to include illustrations or photographs in this book.  The creepier, the better.  The illustrations could further hammer home the idea of mediated identities and bodies as a form of entertainment.  Overall, I think it is important to maintain the slightly dark and ominous tone that that the song has and that might be accomplished by examining how the circus appeals to some darker human impulses.  Really, I think the circus gives you a lot to work with and a psychedelic circus would be pretty cool.

Which song would you want to see turned into a book?

And here are my previous posts of the week, should you be interested:

My review of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

My review of After the Snow

My Top Ten Tuesday: Books that Fooled Me

5 thoughts on “TGIF: Musical Stories

  1. OMG this song is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I saw Across the Universe which isn’t really that great of a movie but it was all Beatles songs. So the first time I heard this was on there and I was like wow this song is awesome even if this dude isn’t singing it. Haha, I’m sure you’ve seen the movie and as a super Beatles fan you probably love it or hate it!

    • I’m so glad I’m not the only one who loves this song! I saw the Cirque de Soleil show, Love, when I was in Vegas and they did a really memorable act to this song which really made me like it even more. I know I saw Across the Universe and I don’t remember much about it… guess that in itself says it wasn’t my favorite movie, haha!

Leave a Reply

