Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Movies

Top Ten Tuesday button

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is the Top Ten Books You’d Like To See Made Into A Movie.

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

1. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell– I love rom-coms.  I’m not sure how you’d translate the narrative device of emails onto the screen, but they made it work in You’ve Got Mail, so surely they could make it work again.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Neww

2. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness– I think this would be a really excellent children’s movie if they could get the monster scenes down right.  The story is certainly there.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

3. Divergent by Veronica Roth– This has been optioned, from what I understand.  If/when it makes it to the theaters, I’ll be there.

Gary Cooper as The Virginian

Time to update the classic?

4. The Virginian by Owen Wister– To be fair, this has already been made into a movie several times over and into a TV series and a TV movie.  But I’ve only seen the 1929 adaptation and from what I can tell, the most recent incarnation (the 2000 TV movie) was of little note.  So, let’s update this story a bit and have a modern Western.  Maybe we can make the heroine a little less pathetic this time, too.

will grayson, will grayson john green and david levithan

5. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan– I am pretty sure this could be the next teen sensation movie.  I mean, it has a musical in it.  And Tiny Cooper.

Partials by Dan Wells

6. Partials by Dan Wells– I’m not sure if this has been optioned yet, but again, I’d pay some monies to go see it.  Especially if they condensed the upcoming sequel (Fragments) with the first book and made it into one standalone movie.

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

7. The Magicians by Lev Grossman– A TV show based on this book apparently fell through, but that’s ok, I’ll take a movie.  I don’t know that it would be a good movie, but umm, I’m running out of books I’ve read that haven’t already been turned into movies.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle

8. We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson– I love SJack and the horrible 1999 movie adaptation of her The Haunting of Hill House was one reason I started reading her works.  WHALITC is not yet a movie and I think we should change that.

9. “The Village After Dark” by Kazuo Ishiguro– This is a short story that I’ve listened to a couple of times on the New Yorker fiction podcast (if you like audio, but have a short attention span– these are great).  I think it would make an interesting, unsettling, and creepy little film.

Still Missing cover by Chevy Stevens

10. Still Missing by Chevy Stevens– This little thriller would make a perfect Lifetime movie.  And while I normally just laugh at Lifetime movie titles while I flip through the menu looking for the Food Network, I might actually watch it.  Ok, maybe not, but it would be a good book to adapt.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Movies

  1. Fairly sure I’d go see most of these movies. And I didn’t know The Haunting was based on a book! While the movie was slightly lame, I actually kind of liked it and got spooked out by it (I’m a wuss when it comes to scary movies!). I’ll definitely have to look for it AND the one you listed above!

    • I was super into the Haunting movie when it came out (my friend and I made many jokes about Owen Wilson’s nose during the decapitation scene), but I’m pretty sure that I’d be more likely to laugh at it these days. I highly recommend any Shirley Jackson you can get your hands on… most of what she’s written is fairly short and very creepy!

  2. I haven’t heard of many of these books! However, I would also drop lots of money to see a Divergent movie – it was on my list too! Still haven’t read Partials, though I keep meaning to!

    My TTT

    • I had a hard time with this list… looking at my shelves, a lot of the books I own have been turned into movies (many of which I haven’t seen!), so I had to reach for more recently published/obscure things. I enjoyed Partials quite a bit, hope you like it when you get to it!

  3. I really like your list! I’m a fan of Rom Com’s too, and I’ve not heard of Attachments so I’ll have to check that out. I love Shirley Jackson books as well, the only film adaptation I’ve seen of her books is The Lottery, and it still gives me chills. We Have Always Lived in the Castle would be a GREAT adaptation! And I am a giant fan of John Green, but honestly, I love his characters so very much, I don’t think any actor could do them justice. (Though it would be great to see Tiny Cooper on the big screen, or Hassan, or the Colonel, or…) Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier, I’m glad I happened upon yours too!

    • Your comment makes me so happy! I am glad to know there are other Shirley Jackson fans out there in the YA book blog world… and I am also tickled to see you mention Hassan and the Colonel, who were some of my favorite John Green characters!!

Leave a Reply

