TGIF: Throwback/Shout-Out

image courtesy of greads.com

TGIF at GReads is a fun feature for answering a book-blogging question posed by Ginger.

This week the question is: Throwback TGIF: Pick a previous question you posted on your blog in the past & revisit your answer. Has it changed since then?

I haven’t participated in TGIF that long, so I figured I’d just choose an old question that I haven’t addressed before.  The question I’ve chosen is from April 20, 2012: Book Blogger Influences: Has there been a particular book blogger who’s influenced what you read? Share with us a review/book blog that convinced you to pick up a certain book.

Discovering book blogs has done wonderful things for my reading– I haven’t been this excited about reading (and I’m ALWAYS excited about reading) ever.  So thanks to all of you who share your enthusiasm for books and reading with me on your blogs and on Twitter.

Here are a couple reviews that got me to a couple of great summer reads:

Sarah @ Clear Eyes, Full Shelves did an advance review of Something Like Normal by Trish Doller.  Her fantastic and detailed review had me requesting this book as soon as it was available from my library!

Asheley @ Into the Hall of Books always writes incredibly detailed reviews that are SO helpful in directing the right person to the right book.  Her review for Wife 22 by Melanie Gideon brought my attention to a great new book that I really enjoyed.

I also want to mention Alison @ The Cheap Reader.  Alison runs the Book Hoarders Anonymous online book club and while it’s been a couple months since I’ve participated, I would never have become kindred spirits with Anne Shirley without the BHA!

Happy Friday, everyone!  Link up to your TGIF Throwback in the comments!

10 thoughts on “TGIF: Throwback/Shout-Out

    • That is why I like the book blogging community so much– we’re all so willing to promote one another and help out newbies and all that. Lots of good bookworms out there 🙂

  1. I love getting influenced by bloggers to pick up books I may have never considered. There have been so many fantastic reads that others have raved about that I’ve thought didn’t sound at all like a book I’d like, but when I took their advice I loved it!

    • I would not have read Something Like Normal because its cover is pretty cheesy, but reading so many rave reviews changed my mind and it blew me away! It’s great to have the help of others’ opinions, for sure.

  2. Blogging is a fantastic way to find out about books. Most of the books I read anymore are something I’ve come across on a blog or another blogger directly recommended to me. Yay for blogging friends! 🙂

    • I agree– her reviews always help me decide if I would actually like a book. I appreciate all the time and energy she puts in to creating well-thought-out and genuinely nice reviews.

Leave a Reply

