Top Ten Tuesday: Confessions of a Book Blogger

Top Ten Tuesday button

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is your Top Ten Bookish Confessions (Anything! You dog ear, you hated a book  but said you loved it, you have $500 library fines…anything goes!).

It’s been a long time since I’ve done a TTT, but I’ve been seriously lacking in inspiration and this is a topic which is sure to yield some funny stories, so here goes…

1. I read library books in the bathtub.

2. I wrote in many, many library books.  But if it makes any difference, they were all history books that probably got checked out once a decade at my university’s library.  And it was in pencil.

3. If my husband interrupts me while I’m reading, I will ignore him until he goes away.

4. I stay up way past my bedtime to read.

5. I also am late to work sometimes because I read too long at breakfast.

6. I have a book on my shelf called The Perfect Elizabeth which I bought only because of the title and have never read.

7. I’m probably not going to ever get a PhD, but I refuse to get rid of the books from my MA because you never know.  I might go back to school.  I might want to reread them.

8. I hardly ever reread books because I am afraid that I might be missing the next new-to-me book.

9. I roll my eyes at books about mermaids even though I’ve never read one.  I just can’t imagine them not being cheesetastic.

10. I read while watching TV, particularly sports.  I look up when the audience starts cheering or my book gets boring.

Confession is good for the soul (or something).  So– spill it, what are you bookish confessions?

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Confessions of a Book Blogger

    • I have only once dropped a book in the bathtub while reading and luckily it was a book I owned! I think I death grip all the others! Though I won’t take my kindle to the tub, that’s a little too risky for me.

  1. #3 – If my husband interrupts me, I ignore or I look at him with a “can’t you see I’m reading” face. Apparently I have one and never even knew it. 🙂

    #9 – Fairies. I tried and I can’t.

  2. #3 makes me laugh- I may have to try that one. I’m finding out today that you are not alone in buying a book because it shares your name. Perfectly understandable. I can relate to #8 too, though sometimes I just want a comfort read and a re-read fits the bill.
    Great confessions!

  3. I too think that mermaids are kind of cheesetastic! I have read a book about them… well, I guess it was supposed to be sirens, but they still had tails… and while I really liked it, I couldn’t get past the part that THEY GET TAILS WHEN THEY GET WET! Also, my bottom shelf is full of academic books from both undergrad and grad school. I will probably never read them or use them, but you never know… one day I may need to look up a random fact in them! Also, if I find a book with my name in the title, I am snatching it up. I don’t care what it’s about. 🙂

    • I hope having The Perfect Elizabeth on my shelf acts as a subtle reminder that The Perfect Elizabeth does exist. In my house. Hope the husband notices it after I ignore him into silence. 😉

  4. I, too, stay up way too late reading. 😀 I remember being tired a LOT in middle and high school because I’d be up way to late reading the night before! I also would have a hard time getting out of bed in the morning, because I’d have to read a chapter or two before getting out of bed!

  5. Totally agreed on #8. I rarely even re-read my favorites! My husband does not understand why I have such a big book collection if I’m going to read them once. I tell him those are questions he just shouldn’t even ask.

    • My husband tries to encourage me to get rid of the books I have on the shelf that I haven’t read yet or won’t reread. I just… can’t. I might be in the mood for them. Someday!

  6. i have a couple text books that i love and will never part with. i have a very few select books i will reread, but you’re right, there’s always something out there you haven’t read yet. 🙂 ~dixie

  7. 1, 3, 4 (all the time), 5, and 10. I read and watch tv all the time unless the book is too demanding. I’ve rarely found a TV show that is too demanding. I couldn’t quite say that I’m afraid to reread books because I do, but then in the car on the way home today I was like, “I want to reread that Seraphina book I just read, but, no, you don’t need to read it it again when you’ve got so many others you haven read for the first time yet.”

Leave a Reply

