TGIF: Choosing My Next Book Adventure

image courtesy of greads.com

TGIF at GReads is a fun feature for answering a book-blogging question posed by Ginger.

This week the question is: Choose Your Next Read: How do you go about choosing what you read next? Do you have a schedule you follow, or do you read whatever makes you happy at the moment?

I tend to follow a few patterns when it comes to book selection.

  1. I pretty much always choose what to read based on my mood.
  2. I can usually only predict what I’ll feel like reading for about three books out.  This means I almost never finish reading through stacks of books when I buy/check them out in large quantities.  In fact, I try to only buy one or two books at a time if I go to the store because otherwise it is a waste of money.  At the library I give myself a little more freedom with the numbers because returning something unread is ok with me!
  3. I also have a present bias in my book choices, meaning I tend to read the books I’ve most recently seen reviewed.  Things tend to languish on my TBR or bookshelf for a loooong time once I’ve lost the initial excitement over them.
  4. There are also practical concerns for my book choices because I use the library A LOT.  So, I have to consider whether a book is at my branch of the library.  Also, the planned reading (whatever that may be) gets moved around when holds come in or if I have an item checked out that cannot be renewed.

How do you decide what to read next?

5 thoughts on “TGIF: Choosing My Next Book Adventure

  1. I have a love-hate relationship with the waiting list option at our library. On the one hand, I really do love the fact that I don’t have to stalk the bookshelf waiting for it, but on the other hand, I hate when I’m in the middle of reading a few books and then the book I’m waiting for comes in. Because usually there’s someone else after me on the waiting list and I’m only given a limited amount of time to read that book. Which I don’t like, especially if I’m into the books I’m currently reading!

    • My library gives a full 3 week checkout of holds, which makes it nice because it gives me enough time to get to them (usually). At the same time, though, it means waiting a long time in line for books. I know some have shorter checkout periods and that would be impossible for me sometimes!

      • We get 3 weeks on books that don’t have requests. But for books that do have requests, we only get 10 days. Which really is a good amount of time if I don’t have other books I’m reading. But I always have other books I’m reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

