August 2012 Roundup/Blogging Slump

So… August.  Worst reading month of 2012 for me.  It’s not a big secret that I’ve been having a hard time keeping up with my blog lately.  I’ve been a bit distracted (lots of big stuff going on in my life right now) and haven’t really read much that I want to talk about. I’ve also been DNFing a lot of books lately, but less because they aren’t good and more because I can’t seem to focus on anything.  It’s been frustrating, but I guess we’re all entitled to our reading slumps.

I can’t seem to kick the blogging slump, though.  I’m not really sure what to do about it.  I want to have a blog, but I don’t think I can be the sort of person who posts regularly.  I just don’t have the energy or enthusiasm to post 3 or 4 times a week consistently.  I also seem to have lost my focus and purpose here.  I have gotten out of this a lot of what I originally intended to get (some buddies to discuss books with, read more, read better) so I’ve sort of hit that point where it’s like… what now?  I am not particularly interested in working with authors or accepting review requests.  I am always hesitant to commit to challenges or read-alongs or that sort of thing because I worry I won’t have the time/interest required to sustain that commitment.  Not sure what direction to take from here, but I will probably continue to sporadically update the blog.  If you have suggestions, please share in the comments.  I could use a little encouragement 🙂

Books Read (with links to my review/Goodreads):

Hard and Fast by Erin McCarthy

Bruiser by Neal Shusterman

Simply Irresistible by Jill Shalvis

Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes

In the Works: I am keeping busy with romances these days.  That seems to be one of the few things that holds my attention right now!

What’s new in your reading/blogging world?

12 thoughts on “August 2012 Roundup/Blogging Slump

  1. I’d say maybe try using your blog as a reading journal. If you want to post something, you could say what you’re currently reading, why you picked up, and what you think so far. Who cares if you’re only halfway through it? You could also maybe talk about past books or maybe make themed lists/reading suggestions (kind of like I do).

    • I appreciate the suggestions, Alison. I’ve always admired how you come up with new and creative non-review things to post! I think I need to cut myself some slack and only post if I have something to say– even if that is not a typical review.

  2. I know what you mean about not being interested in author tours and stuff like that. I usually skip posts like that anyway. I just want to talk about books! I mean, some extra posts are interesting, like Top Tens and discussion posts regarding books, but that’s about it.

    I hope you keep blogging! I like reading your thoughts on books, especially since we have pretty similar tastes and usually if you like a book, I’ll like it too. Also, I am totally a sporadic updater too. There’s no way I could post 3-4 times a week. At this point with work, I’m lucky if I post twice and honestly, I haven’t finished a book in like 2 weeks! I’m hoping to finish my current one this weekend but unfortunately, lesson planning comes first :-/

    Also I really like talking to you on twitter 🙂

    • Thanks, Kyle! I suppose some of this is realizing that a schedule isn’t for me (as much as it sounds like something I’d like) and that it is perfectly ok to spend some time away to focus on my real life or to just relax sometimes!

  3. I understand what you mean. I blog about once a week (which is also how often I finish a book) and try to leave a lot of the daily personal stuff off of my site. Sometimes I have something else that is book-related to talk about, but I try to stay on topic.

    • As much as I like talking about books (which is quite a lot really), I don’t always have much to say about some of them. I guess that’s ok, it just gets hard when it is a month or two’s worth of books!

  4. I like Alison’s suggestion a lot to think of your blog as a reading journal. If you force yourself to read or blog you’re just going to get resentful, so just do what feels right for you. I’ve had to take a few blogging breaks over the summer and they helped me a lot. I’ll never be a daily post type of person, and believe you should just blog when you feel like it. I’m glad you are enjoying reading romance- it’s nice to shake things up. Sending good thoughts your way 🙂

    • Thanks, Lucy! You’re right– I need to just post what I want, when I want. I need to think a little more to figure out exactly what that is, but it is good to know that taking breaks is ok, too!

  5. I’m proud of you for pursuing your goals and for achieving so much along the way. You remind me of the importance of hobbies and work-life balance as well as the joy of trying something new. Love you, sissy!

  6. I’ve had the same problem this month. I’ve been so busy with life. Just reading the comments you’ve gotten have helped me re-affirm that it’s ok to not post for a little bit in order to make sure I don’t get burned out. 🙂
    As for romances, any good ones to pass along? I finished the Shades of Grey series and have yet to post a review on it, but want to. YA fiction is great, but sometimes a little smut helps…those teens tend to only go so far…haha! (that’s so bad…I can’t believe I wrote that)

    • I really like Erin McCarthy’s series about racecar drivers (I believe the first one is called Hard and Fast). I also recently read Victoria Dahl’s Bad Boys Do and that was also really great.

      I hope you can figure out your blogging slump, too. It is really ok to take a break, especially when life is keeping you busy!

Leave a Reply

