Top Ten Tuesday: Not New, but Not to be Forgotten

Top Ten Tuesday button

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is the Top Ten “Older” Books You Don’t Want People To Forget About or older books not to be forgotten in the midst of all the new releases.

I’m super excited for this topic because it will hopefully expose me to some titles I haven’t heard of yet!  However, I warn you, my list is sort of paltry.  I didn’t keep track of what I read until the last year and in the last year I’ve mostly read books published in the last 3 years.  So… my definition of “old” is sort of skewed… I’m trying to keep to things published in 2007 and years prior.

1. We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson (1962)– I know I’ve raved about this book before, but seriously… this is the perfect time of year for a story about murder and madness and how frightening ordinary they can seem.  It’s also pretty short!

2. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery (1908)– Anne Shirley is delightful and charming.  If you’ve never given her a try, I’d recommend it.  In fact, Alison of The Cheap Reader and I are doing a little readalong of Anne of Avonlea, the second in the series.  Please join us, if you want to get to know this lovely character!

3.  The Color Purple by Alice Walker (1982)– I read Shannon’s review of this today and it reminded me how good a book this was.  Also, it is the perfect book to pick in honor of Banned Books Week!

4. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (1847)– I may have mentioned that this is my favorite book ever…

5. Unwind by Neal Shusterman (2007)– This book is seriously, seriously good.  And its sequel just came out, so you can read them back-to-back!  (Though that is not really necessary.)

6. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie (2007)– This was really great on audiobook… funny and heartbreakingly realistic tale of coming of age as a reservation Indian who actually has a shot at escaping the res.

Ok, this is pretty shameful… I can’t think of any more books published in that time frame that I remember well enough to recommend.  So please, share your lists so I can diversify my reading and stop reading a bunch of brand new books!

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Not New, but Not to be Forgotten

  1. Haha exactly! I was stretching my list at 8 so I scrapped it. I guess I just read too many new releases! Anne is a great choice. I actually think I watched the movies more than reading the bookst though. Oops!

    • I really thought I was better at reading older books, but I guess not! I have a bunch of old books on my shelves I keep meaning to read, but the temptations of new releases at the library and on my kindle are apparently too much!

  2. I really struggled with this list (ergo no post yet). I feel like once they are 50 years old if we’re still reading them they are in good shape so I was trying to stay with book written between 1980 – 2009. It’s very limiting. Plus it was ending up with a lot of books I’ve mentioned before. I may still post this afternoon.

    • I was surprised with how tough this list was to put together… usually I skip topics where I don’t have much to contribute, but I’m trying to get back into the TTT routine because it helps me stay accountable on other posts (weirdly enough). I look forward to seeing what you pick… maybe I’ll find one I haven’t read before!

    • Absolutely… I read all of Shirley Jackson’s published work after I read “The Lottery” in middle school, but I wish more people would read beyond her famous short story. She is really great at writing creepiness!

  3. I just very recently read the Part Time Indian book b/c I read it on a list of books that were once censored or banned or something. Anytime I see a book has been censored or banned, I know that I must go out and read it right away. I cannot understand banning or censoring that book. Cannot!!! I will probably make my son read that book when he’s old enough to understand it and appreciate it. I mostly think parts of it will embarrass him right now (he’s only 10). Such a good book. And Jane Eyre, I’ve seen maybe every theatrical version of it, but I’ve never read it unless you count Jenna Starborn by Sharon Shinn which is a very true to the original story, but set under futuristic conditions (like instead of being an orphan, she’s bio engineered). Great story. I think the Golden Compass series should become a classic.

    • I’m sure your son will love Part-Time Indian when he gets a little older… it’s a really great book! I have been meaning to read the Golden Compass books for a long time now and I forget every time I’m looking for something to read.

Leave a Reply

