Announcement…

Ok, so this isn’t entirely book-related, but I’m unable to contain my excitement any more and some of you might be wondering why I’m doing crazy things like giving up caffeine or crying when football players get injured…

I’m pregnant!  The husband and I are expecting our first child in April!

I’m so so so very excited!

And here’s where I bring it back to books… parents, grandparents, aunts/uncles, children’s librarians, readers who haven’t touched a children’s book in 20+ years… please share your favorite children’s books in the comments.  We all know that this kid is going to have a well-stocked library and I would love some help in knowing where to start!  Also, if you have any parenting or pregnancy books that I should look into, please share.  (I’m skimming through What to Expect When You’re Expecting, of course, but wasn’t really sure if there was anything else worth my time.)

I know this will mean some changes in my blog and I thank you all for your patience as my blog adjusts to pregnant life and, eventually, to mommy life!

27 thoughts on “Announcement…

    • Thank you! I think I own The Giving Tree (leftover from my childhood), but definitely need to expand my horizons in terms of baby books… it’s been a very long time since I’ve read any of those!

  1. CONGRATS! That’s so exciting!

    You know what you should do (and I want to do when I have a baby)? Tell people to get you their favorite kids book as a part of your baby gift. You should get should be able to get a good mixture of books!

    • My sister has apparently been scoping baby shower ideas on Pinterest and said she found one where everyone would bring and sign a children’s book instead of bringing/signing a card which will end up in a box or in the trash. Hopefully we can find a way to implement this into my shower when the time comes. So excited to have a little bookworm-in-training around!

    • Thank you! I have What to Expect checked out from the library, but I set aside once I got involved with the fiction I was reading. Non-fiction (even the stuff I really want to read) takes me forever to read for this reason!

  2. omg congratulations!!! So happy and excited for you guys!!!

    Some of my fav children’s books are Eric Carle’s and Seuss for really little ones and for older ones, I loved Berestain bears, Arthur, and Mike Mulligan and his Steam Shovel. I just might have to send you a couple congratulations presents 🙂

    • A lot of these were favorites from my childhood, too. I wish my mom had saved more of my books, but she loves to sell things to the half-price bookstore so books never survive if they live at her house. (I know, the horror! How is this woman my mother?)

    • Thank you, Sarah! This sounds like the perfect book– I ordered it on amazon right away! Pregnancy stuff seems to be all about how your body is changing… I’m like… dude, I know, this can really suck, but can I please stop feeling sorry for myself and actually enjoy this? It’s not like I’m going to be doing it more than a couple of times in my life.

  3. Congratulations! Very exciting!

    As for kids books, most of my favorites are for older kids, but when the time comes totally get a copy of Animalia by Graeme Base. It’s kind of a book that keeps on giving when kids are younger they can try and find the kid in the striped shirt in every (beautiful!) picture, and when they get older, the words are cool, too. It’s a little like Where’s Waldo, but so much classier. 😉

    Oh, and I love Mo Williams Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus series!

  4. I Am a Bunny, which is available in Kindle format. A must! http://www.amazon.com/Bunny-Golden-Sturdy-Book-ebook/dp/B005IEGU4S/ref=sr_1_1_title_1_kin?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1349743328&sr=1-1&keywords=i+am+bunny
    And Congratulations! I became a insta-mom when I married my husband and got a four year old boy in the deal. I met them when he was about two and a half. I missed the pregnancy and little baby stuff, but when you need to know what boys like in books, I’m your girl. Mine is 10 now and it was the fastest seven years of my life!

  5. Enormous CONGRATS to you!!! I actually preferred Your Pregnancy Week by Week much more than WTEWYE. I loved the week-by-week format. Also, The Girlfriend’s Guide to Pregnancy by Vicki Iovine is pretty hilarious. Helpful and honest! Jenny McCarthy’s Belly Laughs is good for a chuckle as well. You have to find a way to entertain yourself when you’re reading about contractions and sore boobs. 🙂

    • belly laughs was super awesome. so funny, if not exactly helpful. but i too enjoyed the week by week, i even got it in an email so i knew every week what was going on with the little booger at that moment in time. try parents.com

      • I’ve been reading the week-by-week stuff online (it’s like a fun weekly treat to read those!), but I will track down the book, too. I really can’t get enough of that stuff. I will have to find Belly Laughs because you’re right– pregnancy books are not really fun to read. And I’m not all that impressed with What to Expect… I felt like the nutrition chapter was trying to lay a guilt trip on me, but I may be overreacting.

  6. Yay!!!! Congrats!!!! My mom is a pre-school teacher so every so often we’ll discuss children’s books. There are SO many great ones out there. I’ll definitely ask her for some recs. One of my favorites as a younger child was one called “Tickle a Pickle.” It’s a book of silly kids’ poems, but they’re really beautifully silly. If I ever have kids, it’s going to be a staple! Congrats again! 🙂

  7. congrats! i am so excited for you! i know some great boy books (i have 2 of them)…little boy by Alison McGhee, where the wild things are (obviously)
    but some other books taht would work for both genders are: anything by DR. Suess, but my faves are The Places You Will Go and The Grinch (which is a lot of fun to read, we read it all year long), ladybug girl books, llama llama books, Olivia (which is AWESOME)…The Monster at the End of the Book and the Bert and Ernie Book, Leonardo is a terrible monster…just to start.
    it’s such an exciting time, i hope you have a lot of fun being pregnant!

Leave a Reply

