Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wish I Could Read Again for the First Time

Top Ten Tuesday button

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week is a freebie, so I chose the old topic of “books I wish I could read again for the first time.”

1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn– This book was fun, disturbing, and made me think.  I wish I could repeat that same feeling of horror I felt when I finished this book.

2. The Harry Potter series– There is really nothing like reading this series for the first time and discovering a whole new world and new characters that you can’t help but fall in love with!

3. In Her Shoes by Jennifer Weiner– I have such strong memories of reading this book for the first time and being totally swept away by the story.  I am not sure if I read it for the first time today I’d be quite as affected, but I wish I could be!

4. “The Lottery” by Shirley Jackson– Nearly everyone has read this short story at some point and I’d have to bet that the twist to it is unforgettable.  I wish I could go back and read it without knowing what was going to happen at the end and be shocked and appalled all over again!

5. The Remains of the Dayby Kazuo Ishiguro– Another book where the sense of horror/disturbance creeps up on you.  I love that feeling, but it is hard to replicate when you remember what is coming.

6. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell– This is one of my favorite books that I’ve discovered through blogging… and I wish I could read it with a clean slate because it is a really endearing story.

7. Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson– A suspense story where the big twist is hard to forget.  I was totally glued to the pages of this one and that is a feeling I would love to have again and again and again.

8. American by Design: Science, Technology, and the Rise of Corporate Capitalism by David Noble– I read this book while I was in grad school and it is pretty critical about the relationship between universities and corporations in the areas of science and technology.  I didn’t much care for it or really get the point.  Now I work at a university founded by the founders of a technology company, in a department that works to commercialize university research.  I have a feeling this book would resonate in a totally different way with me now and would have liked to bring this new experience to the table when I read this book.

9. Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt– I loved this book when I was a kid.  While much of the story has faded from my memory and reading it now would probably be like reading it fresh, I don’t have a particularly great track record with going back to books I loved as a kid.  My adult tastes don’t seem to be exactly in line with my childhood ones.

10. Wait Till Helen Comes by Mary Downing Hahn– This ghost story scared my pants off when I was a kid and stuck with me because the ghost’s name is Helen Elizabeth which is a reverse of my first and middle names.  I remember a surprising amount of what happens in this story, so wish I could read it and get the same creepiness I did as a kid.

What books do you wish you could read again for the first time?  What Top Ten Tuesday topic did you pick this week?  Please post your links in the comments!

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wish I Could Read Again for the First Time

  1. I read Wait til Helen Comes when I was a kid and it scared the shit out of me. I loved it, but hated it at the same time because it scared me so much! I still have it…I might need to read it again 🙂

    Also totally agree on HP. I’m always jealous when people read it for the first time.

    • I was into ghost stories when I was a kid, but Wait Till Helen Comes is the only one I remember being actually scary and having a truly bad (as opposed to misunderstood or mysterious or helpful) ghost in it. I really wonder if it would still be as scary now. Let me know if you reread it!

  2. There are so many books that I read when I was younger that I wish I could go back and reread and be shocked and surprised and happy all over again, for the first time! Even books now, like Harry Potter, I wish I could read again for the very first time! One I know I’d love to go back and read is the Book Thief. While it made me boohoo like crazy, I loved all the feelings I had towards it. If only they could be repeated! Great topic and great list!

    • Thanks! As much as I like the occasional reread of an old favorite, there is really nothing like reading a book unsullied and being completely surprised by where the author takes you! I still need the read The Book Thief… it is suffering from a case of I-bought-it-so-now-I-won’t-read-it-because-oh-look-shiny-library-books! I will, though, eventually. Just waiting for a moment in which I can handle all the emotions!

  3. Ditto “Attachments” and “Harry Potter”. I got on the wait list for “Gone Girl” at the library. I’m hold number 366 so I’m probably going to have to buy.

    • I can’t wait to hear about your book club– I hope you will post something about Rainbow’s visit! I am eager for you to read Gone Girl, but holy cow, 366? Maybe a couple hundred of those will drop off the list in frustration? haha, good luck being patient!

  4. I recently re-read Harry Potter and it felt like the first time. It was brilliant. I love that series so much.

    I wish I could read Twilight again for the first time. The films weren’t out {or even being thought about} and I just loved it! I also wish I could read These Is My Words by Nancy Turner for the 1st time. I cried so hard at the end I had to call my sister for comfort. Best book ever. I felt everything reading this book. I wanted to crawl inside it and live there.

    • It would be interesting to read Twilight for the first time without all the hype of the movies and all the vitriol that has been spewed against it. I read it after the first movie came out, but it was still catching on and there wasn’t much outright hatred of the series. I actually enjoyed it, but I think all the hype (positive and negative) would make it hard for me to enjoy as much if I read it for the first time now!

  5. Ooooh I LOVE this topic! Of course Harry Potter!!!! ❤ ahh!
    I wish I had felt more with Attachments! I really enjoyed it, but not as much as I'd hoped.

    Great list! 🙂 I love the topic you chose this week.

    • I just really connected to Lincoln in Attachments… he reminded me of guys I’ve dated and of myself. As fun as the romance was in there, I liked seeing Lincoln find his place in the world. I dunno, this was probably a case of the right book at the right time for me. And that has sort of cemented it in my mind as an awesome book.

  6. Gone Girl was such an addictive read- I couldn’t put it down. I’d put that one on my list too. I can relate to this topic, and often wish I could read books again for the first time.

  7. Great list, although while it would be fun to re-read “The Lottery” for the first time, there’s something additionally creepy about starting this, now that we know why those children are filling their pockets with stones.

    • That’s true… there is something to be said for the horror of knowing something awful is going to happen. But I still wish I could read it again for the first time because discovering that horror was also pretty powerful, too.

  8. Okay, I love A LOT of these! And I read Wait Til Helen Comes way too young and scared the bejesus out of myself!

    Totally agree with you on Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep, I’d love to relive those twists!

    • I’m a total junkie for books with great big twists, but I hate that they are pretty much only good for one read before you’ve ruined the fun with them. Oh well, hopefully authors will keep churning these out for me!

    • I have read Never Let Me Go and definitely enjoyed it as well. I am not sure which I preferred, though. The Remains of the Day always sticks out in my memory more because I read it for school. Both would be good choices for this list, though, as I have a hard time justifying rereading them when I know the surprises that are coming!

  9. Oh my gosh, I love Mary Downing Hahn. Wait Till Helen Comes is soo freaky. Have you read any of her other ghost stories? I particularly like All the Lovely Bad Ones.

    To be able to read HP for the first time again. Gosh. I can actually remember a lot of my emotions when I first began the series. It wasn’t as popular then as it became. I love HP.

    Here’s my TTT

    • It’s been ages since I’ve read Mary Downing Hahn, but I bet I did some of her other ghost stories as a kid… just Helen sticks out in my memory, probably because the ghost and I shared names.

      BTW, your TTT topic is exactly what I have been looking for! I’m pregnant and want to keep my eyes out for great picture books when I hit the bookstores. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

