Top Ten Tuesday: Getting in the Halloween Spirit

Top Ten Tuesday button

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is Top Ten Books To Get In The Halloween Spirit.

I don’t read many books that fit into the Halloween mold– paranormal or horror.  I tend to read thrillers this time of year, as that is my favorite brand of creepy, but many thrillers are disposable so I’m not sure I’d recommend them.  Here is my hodge-podge list of spooky! scary! books which I think are perfect for prepping you for Halloween!

1. The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson– I read this for the readathon a couple weekends ago and this is a great fall read.  It’s not super scary, but it is disorienting and creepy and there are some really off-kilter characters.

2. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn– This is more on the suspense side of things, but it is disturbing and twisted, so I think it would make a good read for Halloween.

3. The Harry Potter series– Halloween seems like the perfect time to relive the magic!

4. Time Windows by Kathryn Reiss– This was one of my favorite ghost stories growing up.  It involves a haunted house and a dollhouse that is a portal to the past of the house.  De rigueur for the 80s/90s ghost story, I guess.

5. Wait Till Helen Comes by Mary Downing Hahn– My other favorite ghost story from growing up.  This ghost was creepy and no good.

6. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs– I was only eh on this book, but if you’re going to read it, Halloween is a good time for it.

7. The Shining by Stephen King– I don’t read much horror or much Stephen King, but I have read The Shining.  And I had trouble sleeping until I finished it.

8. The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz– I’m running out of scary stories, but this funny mystery series seems like a good fit for this time of year, too.  There’s a thin line between funny and scary.

What gets you in the Halloween spirit?  Also, while we’re talking about Halloween (and I’m pregnant, so I think about food constantly), what’s your favorite Halloween candy?  I love the mallowcreme pumpkins, as well as Kit Kats and Milk Duds.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Getting in the Halloween Spirit

  1. I’ll admit, I loved Miss Peregrine, but know plenty who were just kind of eh about it. It’s one of those super weird ones that I really like. Maybe I’m just a touch weird 🙂 Other than that one I haven’t read any of these, but have heard lots of great (and scary!) things about some of them!

    • It wasn’t really the weirdness that turned me off… I just remember being a bit bored with it and thought it was a little simplistic. But it is definitely appropriate for this time of year and definitely has an audience out there, so I think it is worth suggesting!

  2. This is the second Top 10 list that I’ve seen feature HP. I loved those books and didn’t even think about them when making my list – especially since my kids have dressed up in character from HP for Halloween before.

    Great list!

    Check out my Top 10

    Holly @ Words Fueled by Love

  3. The only book(s) on your list I’ve read were Harry Potter. There are not enough hours in the day. I’ve got “The Spellman Files” on hold at the library and I’m rapidly moving up the list for “Gone Girl” (282 as of last night).

    • I’ve been flying through the Spellman series… just started the last one last night and I think I’ll be real sad when it’s over. I really hope you enjoy it… it’s not really Halloweeny, but for some reason the funny mystery seems appropriate to me for the fall.

  4. Gone Girl is a good choice – that’s my kind of scary book. I need to read her other books too. The Shining is a terrifying one, I devoured King’s books as a teen.
    Congrats on your pregnancy! I think when I was pregnant I was a fan of peanut butter cups. There’s lots of great Halloween picture books you’ll get to read with your little one too next year!
    Happy spooky reading 🙂

  5. And weren’t the Halloween scenes in the first 2 books just amazing? I loved the death day scene so much, it was really probably my favouriyte part of the second book, apart from the budding relationship between Ginny and Potter! (: Great top ten!

    • It’s been so long since I’ve read the books that the scenes aren’t fresh in my mind. Maybe I should take my own advice and pick the books back up this time of year!

  6. My favorite candy is anything without peanut butter! My brothers allergic so we always had major candy redistributions!

  7. love the shining! i’ve heard a lot about gone girl, but i don’t know if i want to read it, even though there were very good reviews about it. i like kisses and that book just doesn’t seem like there would be any…ya know? and seriously, i think my favorite halloween candy are those honking big tootsie rolls. 🙂

Leave a Reply

