Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Frustrating Characters

Top Ten Tuesday button

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is the Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever.

1. Caro from The Opposite of Hallelujah, a book I did not finish because Caro frustrated the heck out of me.  She’s a stereotypical self-centered teen and I could not deal with that!

2. Hannah from When She Woke.  Hannah’s motivations confused me quite a bit and I didn’t like her or sympathize with her as much as I had hoped I would.  Her character was frustrating because of how disappointing it was!

3. Ranger from the Stephanie Plum series.  He’s frustrating because he’s so mysterious and sexy and you just can’t pin him down.  Also, as much as I like Ranger, we all know he’s not the man for Stephanie.

4. Jessica Darling from the Jessica Darling series.  I became increasingly frustrated with Jessica as the series goes on and she makes a bunch of stupid decisions and is all angsty and pretentious.

5. Doug Swieteck from Okay for Now.  I love Doug, but a couple of times he gives up when things get tough and that is pretty frustrating to see from a character you want to see succeed so badly!

6. Tris from Insurgent.  Badass Tris suddenly becomes weepy and annoying and unable to take care of herself in the sequel.  Frustrated just begins to describe how I felt about her in this one.

7. Alaska from Looking for Alaska.  Frustrating because we never really know the whys of Alaska.

8. St. John Rivers from Jane Eyre.  He’s just so stubborn and single-minded and repressive.  I always have trouble understanding why Jane even cares about him to begin with.

9. Ethan from Beautiful Creatures.  While I’d more file him under “didn’t care about” characters, it did mildly frustrate me that he doesn’t come off like a teenage boy at all.

10. Starkey from UnWholly.  I know he’s meant to be the villain of the story and that I’m not supposed to like him, but I was pretty frustrated by his manipulativeness and his unwillingness to listen to reason and his reckless actions.

Who are some of the book characters that have frustrated you the most?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Frustrating Characters

  1. We don’t have any overlap this week, but I really considered Alaska and SHOULD have considered book 2 Tris. I think I was just so generally annoyed with Insurgent that Tris was just a part for my frustration.

    • Yeah, I still get angry when I think about Insurgent, but Tris was one of my favorite parts of the series to begin with so when she had a sudden personality change, I just couldn’t take it!

  2. I haven’t read insurgent yet, so I cannot comment on Tris, but I like your contributions. Ranger is frustrating, but I think Stephanie is more so (make a choice, already! though I do love when she gets it on with Ranger). Also, you’re right about Jessica. She’s so pretentious, but I do love her.

  3. Great list. I’ve only read the Stephanie books but I love her relationship with Joe. Even though deep down I know that she can’t be with Ranger but a part of me wishes.
    Thanks for the great list.
    My TTT

  4. While I haven’t read a lot of these, the ones I have read I totally agree on! Tris in Insurgent was terrible… I mean, I understood why she was the way she was, and I don’t think I would’ve wanted her to be different, she just got on my nerves! I started the Beautiful Creatures series recently; I’m like you. I wouldn’t say Ethan is frustrating… but yeah, I really don’t care about him. I just want to know about all the other characters! haha

    • Tris drove me nuts in Insurgent, I just couldn’t deal with her! And it is really a shame that Ethan is the narrator in Beautiful Creatures… there were some interesting side characters (or Lena!) who could possibly have spiced the story up for me quite a bit!

  5. The freshest one that comes to mind is Vivian from Blood and Chocolate, which I just finished reading. Talk about typical, self centered teenager. I’m glad I stuck it out to the end with her, though. She made up for it and learned a lesson. Yes Tris in Insurgent. I think I commented to you before about how much I agree with you that she turned into a blubbering whimp. I dislike any character who either: a) Doesn’t stand up for themselves (unless the author does an extremely good job showing the things that made them so downtrodden as to make them sympathetic), or b) has so much pride that they refuse to set a story straight because they believe the other character “should have known them better than to believe the lie that was told about them despite overwhelming proof to the contrary,” or “if the other character really knew/loved me, they would have known what I wanted or what I needed them to do without me telling them, so they must not really love me,” or the “I’m just not good enought or too much danger to the other character and therefore must leave them without explanation.’ OHHH I hate that.

    • hahaha, YES to all of your reasons for hating characters! I hate when the conflict in a book revolves around the fact that two people can’t communicate their needs/wants to the other person. All it takes is a conversation to fix that. And I don’t need to read an entire book leading up to a conversation. So annoying!

Leave a Reply

