Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Memories

Top Ten Tuesday button

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is the Top Ten Best Bookish Memories (waiting in line for a new release, meeting an author, or some sort of great experience with a particular book that was unlike others).

1. Getting my husband to read The Hunger Games books and Sherman Alexie’s works (we’ve been sharing Blasphemy, so it’s got two bookmarks in it right now, lol).  He’s not big into fiction, so I love when we can find some books and authors to share.

2. Book fairs in elementary school.  Particularly the one where I picked up my first American Girl book, Happy Birthday, Kirsten!.  That started my addiction to historical fiction about the frontier which I think led me to take a class on the American frontier in college which landed me in graduate school.  Good work, American Girl.

3. Reading Alane Ferguson’s Stardust in one day.  Multiple times.  I don’t know what it was about this book about a former TV star learning to be true to herself, but I LOVED it as a kid and reread it to death.

4. When I was a child, I had numerous pen pals (this sounds so old-fashioned now).  One was the daughter of my mom’s friend who lived in Ohio.  She was a couple years older than me and we used to send each other books through the mail.  Pretty sure she introduced me to some great books, but the only specific thing I can remember getting is a couple of BSC books from her.

5. In elementary school I was really into biographies and read them about all sorts of people, including Harriet Beecher Stowe.  This inspired me to ask the very surprised elementary school librarian if I could check out Uncle Tom’s Cabin.  As I remember it, she told me they probably had it at the high school and that it might be a little too advanced for me.

6. When I lived in the dorms in college, I subscribed to get mail-order Harlequin romances.  It was the best dorm mail ever, especially since I was carless and the university library didn’t really carry my brand of trash romance.

7. Jane Eyre is one of my all-time favorite books and is probably the book I’ve reread the most times in my life.  My obsession with it started in 8th grade when we got to choose between reading it or Treasure Island.  I happened to catch an old movie version of Jane Eyre on TV (I think it must have been the Orson Welles one, but I don’t really know for sure) before we made our decisions and was so into the story, I knew I had to read the book!

8. When authors have tweeted me to thank me for my reviews of their books… this has happened three or four times, I think, and it always makes me feel weird and proud at the same time.  I’m just glad to know that my reviews are appreciated by the people whose works I’ve spent so much time reading and reviewing.

9. I spent a summer shelving books at a public library.  I found tons to read, just by sorting through returned books and by shelving.  And I got to assist with story time a couple of times.  It was a pretty fun (and bookish) summer job!

10. In elementary school, we used to have a month or week where we’d do DEAR (Drop Everything and Read).  We’d carry a book around all day and when they announced it on the loudspeaker, we’d all get to sit down and read for 15 minutes or so.  The DEAR time that sticks out most in my memory is when it got called during gym class.  I was more than happy to sit and read instead of running around.  I wish we could implement DEAR into adult life somehow!

What are some of your most fond bookish memories?

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Memories

  1. I miss shelving books sometimes — touching books, and ordering books, and talking to kids about books every day in the library definitely kept me more curious about books. I always had a huge pile to check out and take home! Ditto for book fairs, they are more fun now that I’m adult with money (though I find Scholastic’s selection very “meh” compared to what I know is out there now!).

    As for DEAR…I think adults need that time, too. I’m all for instituting grown-up DEAR time. If some adults can get 2 10-minute breaks a day to smoke a cigarette each day, I should be able to get a single 20-minute break just for reading a book at my desk. Right?

    • Shelving is a great way to browse books– I definitely prefer it to scanning shelves or looking at displays.

      And yes, the world would be a much better time with random reading breaks in the work day!

  2. I love it when authors tweet at me for reviews! I know they’re regular people and all…but I still flip out that they’re talking to me! I spent a couple of months volunteering at the library and it was so much fun! I just loved being in there for so long… Great list 🙂

    Here’s my Top Ten!

  3. Oh my gosh, I looooved American Girl books! The day I bought my American Girl doll was a treasure lol.
    Great memories!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂
    DEAR sounds awesome! I really wish we could do that in adult life…. I would love it!

    • I was SO proud of myself when I bought my American Girl doll (Kirsten, of course)… I saved up my allowance for over a year to pay for it. Every time I’d get my American Girl catalog, I’d paw through hoping they’d released new outfits or dolls or books!

        • I totally wanted one of those, but my parents drew the limit at one $80 doll. I did buy some of the modern clothes and put them on Kirsten, though… she was a rollerblading prairie girl!

          • lol awesome! I had a cheerleader uniform and some cute clothes…. my mom bought a doll bed and she sewed a nice quilt for it. It was my favorite thing! And now I don’t know whatever happened to it and that kind of makes me sad LOL. My mom actually had me earn the money to pay for it myself so I would appreciate it more. And boy, did I! 🙂

            • My Kirsten doll is currently at my aunt’s house serving as a dressform since my aunt likes to make doll clothes for her great-nieces and granddaughters. I hope your mom has yours at home somewhere… maybe your niece will appreciate it someday!

  4. Aw! American Girl! The first one I ever read was Samantha Learns a Lesson! Funny how we remember those! I want to institute DEAR time at work. Seriously, that would be the best 15 minute break EVER! And Jane Eyre! I’ve only read some of the book, and that was back in high school, but I make it a point to see any version of it because I LOVE the story! Great list!

    • I think since we work for universities, it would be in the best interest of staff, faculty, and students to get a little DEAR time. Hmmm, wonder if I should propose that at staff council or something 😉

  5. I think Jane Eyre is my most read book as well. That or Pride and Prejudice or The Blue Castle. Tie. My copy has the pages falling out.

    Which movie version is your favorite? I secretly love Timothy Dalton but I’m really all about the Ruth Wilson. I love that version so.

    • Shamefully, I think I have only ever seen the one film version of Jane Eyre and it’s been so long I don’t remember much about it! I’ve never been big into movies… which means I get a lot of “You haven’t seen ____? How is that possible?”

  6. ooh, great list. I especially like the Jane Eyre one because it reminds me of Anne of Green Gables, which I happened to catch on tv and HAD TO read the book. also, I love when authors acknowledge my reviews. 🙂

    • I always love finding out a movie or TV show I like is based on a book because usually the book is so much better! The only exception I can think of is the Dexter books… loved that TV show and the books were just blah.

  7. Author contact is the BEST. I’ve never gotten tweets, but I’ve recieved Goodreads mail with thank yous. One of them led to us even being facebook friends *and* he sent me a hard copy of his book. Awesome stuff!

    • Very cool! I am a little shy about author contact, but I have had a good conversation with an author about her book that helped me work out some of my thoughts about it. Actually knowing what the authorial intent was is really awesome!

      • i think i’d be too intimidated to have the kind of conversation i had with my new author friend with an established author, but he was just starting out and was probably just excited to see OMG A GOOD REVIEW ON SOMETHING I WROTE!!!!

  8. Oh my gosh, I would have been all for having DEAR time during gym class! And why didn’t I think about getting books delivered to me while I was in college. Talk about the best mail ever!

    • haha, I was telling my mom the other day that when I was a kid I would do whatever it took to get indoor recess so I could sit and read a book instead of hanging outside in the cold. I ALWAYS pick books over exercise (to my own detriment even).

Leave a Reply

