January 2013 Roundup/Mini-Reviews

Oh hey, February is half over and I haven’t posted my January roundup.  Oops.  I have been in a bit of reading slump lately, so talking about my reading hasn’t sounded very fun either.  January was a very slow month reading-wise– only 4 books and none of them has really stuck with me.  I am having a hard time coming up with anything to say for those reviews, so I have no plans for posting full reviews, instead I’m just going to post my brief thoughts below.  Really, it was just a blah month of reading and I’m really hoping that isn’t the way things are going to shape up for the rest of the year!

Books Read:

Envy by Gregg Olsen– A based-off-a-true-crime mystery with some mild paranormal elements to it.  The tone read very much like a true crime story (the author has previously written in that genre, so it made sense), which took a while to get used to, but wasn’t a bad thing.  Enjoyable, but hasn’t stuck with me much at all.  Try it if you like the idea of a genre smash up between true crime, YA, and paranormal.

Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone– Time-traveling teen romance.  It was an ehh sort of read for me.  I just don’t know that I’m really into YA romances.  Also, the dialogue was super cheesy.

Medium Raw by Anthony Bourdain– I love Anthony Bourdain and loved Kitchen Confidential, but his follow-up was more hit-or-miss.  Some of the chapters were worthwhile, while others made me feel like an outsider who couldn’t follow the conversation, while others just seemed needlessly ranty.  If you are a Bourdain fan who has read his other work and watched a lot of No Reservations and Top Chef, you will certainly find some good stories in here.  But I would stick to Kitchen Confidential otherwise… this felt very insidery.

Pregnancy, Childbirth, and the Newborn by Penny Simkin, et al.– If I was going to recommend a general pregnancy book, it would probably be this one.  It definitely has a natural childbirth slant to it, but the authors do explain the differences between medical and midwife models of care, different childbirth settings, and give details on the pros/cons of medical interventions.  I thought it was fairly balanced and pretty informative (more so than the literature provided in my childbirth class).  Also, I think it was a pretty reassuring book… some of the other pregnancy books I perused were very heavy on mentioning all that could go wrong.  This did include discussions of complications, but didn’t make them seem like the norm.  My biggest complaint here is that this was really long!

In the Works: I am currently in the middle of several different books.  I am finally back to audiobooks and have been listening to Deception by Denise Mina, a mystery/drama about a man whose wife is in prison for murdering a serial killer.  I just started reading Unsticky, a book that sounds a lot like 50 Shades, but is supposedly so much more than that.  I have also been reading Blasphemy by Sherman Alexie, a book of short stories, in bits and pieces here and there.  Finally, I am reading one last (maybe?) childbirth book, Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth in between the fiction.  I think I might be coming out of my slump, but I am definitely hoping these turn out to be some really good books instead of a bunch of just ok books like in January!

What’s going on in your reading/blogging world?

Leave a Reply

