Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’d Like to Start

Top Ten Tuesday button

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is the Top Ten Series I’d Like To Start But Haven’t Yet.

There are quite a few series on my TBR list.  It will certainly take me a long time to get through all these series, but here are the nine (I figured nine was plenty to commit to) I’d like to try one of these days!

1. The Across the Universe series by Beth Revis– I hear a lot of good things about this sci-fi mystery series.  I have the audiobook of the first one, but I keep forgetting to put it in my car to listen to it.  So uhh, this will get started sooner rather than later.

2. The Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld– This dytopian series gets more mixed reviews, but I’ve been curious about it for a while.  I just took a long break from dystopia and haven’t really made my way back yet.

3. The Birthmarked series by Caragh O’Brien– Another dystopian series I just haven’t made it to yet.  This one is about a midwife, so that keeps piquing my interest, as I’m sort of interested in midwifery and childbirth (though I’m sure this book isn’t really about that).

4. The Shades of London series by Maureen Johnson– I had heard good things about the first book, The Name of the Star, which has something to do with Jack the Ripper.  What can I say?  Unsolved serial killer books sound interesting.

5. The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon– I have really no idea if I’d like this series, but I hear good things, especially about the romance.  I have been super intimidated by the size of the book and the series, though, and have been holding off on reading it as a result.

6. A Song of Fire and Ice by George R.R. Martin– I feel really late to the game in trying to decide whether to start (or not) this fantasy series.  Fantasy is pretty hit or miss with me and my mother-in-law insists that Game of Thrones was a really boring book, but I sort of want to try it out for myself.  Again, though, I’ve been intimidated by the size of the books!

7. Dublin Murder Squad by Tana French– I hear really good things about her thrillers and have had the first book in the series, In The Woods, on my list for about six months.  I just keep waiting for it to have fewer holds at the library (without putting myself on the list… really, I make no sense sometimes).

8. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer– My mother-in-law raves about this children’s series and usually she has pretty good judgment… I just haven’t heard much else about it.

9. Myron Bolitar by Harlan Coben– This mystery series has been around for a while, but I never really paid attention to it.  More recently, though, it was recommended by a blogging buddy who has good taste.  I definitely mean to try it out sometime.  Mystery series are fun!

What series are you hoping to try in the near future?  Have you read any of mine?  Are they worth investing the time/money/energy a series takes?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’d Like to Start

  1. Shades of London and Across the Universe are both pretty good, definitely two of my favs at the moment. And kudos to you for wanting to tackle Game of Thones!

  2. I’ve got the first two books in the Uglies series on my bookshelf.. haven’t touched them since I bought them! Across the Universe is fantastic and I really hope you get to it sometime! I’d love to read the Outlander and Song of Fire and Ice series… but am hesitant. Not sure why! And yes! The Shades of London series is on my list too; really excited about that series and wanting to read it!

    • I hate the curse of buying a book only to let it sit on the shelf forever! I finally started Across the Universe and think I will enjoy it… seems like it is a little bit slow in getting started (or maybe I just want to know what the heck is going on!)

  3. Hey! join our read along for A Song of Ice and Fire! haha 🙂 It’s me and a few other blogs reading it SUPER SLOWLY. One book every two months. We can be your support group!!
    I really want to read Across the Universe! I actually HAVE the books now so I can get started someday 🙂
    Great choices!!

  4. I did “Across the Universe” Book 1. Could NOT get into book 2, but maybe I wasn’t in the right mood. Love the Uglies/Pretties series by Scott Westerfield, but highly recommend stopping after the original first three. The only other series I can comment on is Outlander. It is a beloved series among many of my friends and I’ve been reading them with my mother since I was about 17 years old. That being said, I think Gabaldon has worn out her welcome. She should have stopped several books back, and she ABSOLUTELY should have stopped after Breath of Snow and Ashes. Echo in the Bone was the last one and I wish I had never read it. I’m so mad at that book I don’t even know if I will read the next in the series. But for at least the first Three to Five books, I have to say its maybe my all time favorite series.

Leave a Reply

