May 2014 Roundup

Sigh.  I have finally hit that point of the year where I have been too busy/too lazy/too caught up in other things to blog.  I am like 6 reviews behind, which, yikes.  I finished some of those books like 6 weeks ago… I want to catch up, but when I get behind like that I find it reallllllly hard to find the motivation to sit down and write even one review.  It is really easy to fall off the regular-posting train.  But hey, what I like about hobbies is that I can devote as much time to them as I want and drop them and pick them back up as I need to.

Anywho, reading-wise I’ve been doing ok.  Only three books in May, but there were several family events this month and a lot of illness in my household, so reading was not top priority.  Also, fantasy books take me forever to finish, so I spent way too long reading The Girl of Fire and Thorns.  I have been having something of a YA moment again, which is fun.  It is nice to read books that the book blogging community is familiar with and well, I like good YA, I really, really do.

Books Read:

Noggin by John Corey Whaley

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

In the Works: I am currently reading The Crown of Embers, which is the sequel to The Girl of Fire and Thorns.  It is better than the first book and way more action-packed… I assume I will be tracking down The Bitter Kingdom shortly after this one.  I have a short stack of library books checked out for myself– a couple chick lit authors I wanted to try and a Marcus Sedgwick book I remembered seeing on Goodreads.  I also bought myself a few books for my birthday– All Fall Down by Jennifer Weiner (I can’t not autobuy her books, I guess), Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers (it was $1.99 for the ebook!), and I preordered Landline by Rainbow Rowell (another autobuy author for me).  There are also several other books coming out this summer that I am super-pumped for, namely Herman Koch’s latest English translation, Summer House with Swimming Pool, and Lev Grossman’s The Magician’s Land, which comes out in August.  Basically, I have lots and lots I want to read this summer.  I hope I can squeeze it all in!

Blog-wise… well, maybe this post will motivate me to get caught up on reviews.  I don’t really have anything else planned because, really, do I ever?

Life-wise… my 5th anniversary is this week (time really has flown by) and husband and I are going to a baseball game this weekend to celebrate (this is how baseball fans celebrate major life events).  My child is wild and crazy and into absolutely everything.  Toddlers are exhausting.  Fun, but exhausting.  One awesome thing is she is really starting to show a love of books.  She plays with them all the time and likes to carry one over and crawl up into my lap for a story.  Now that will make a book blogging mama’s heart melt!

One thought on “May 2014 Roundup

  1. I’m so, so, so happy you decided to stick with Girl of Fire and Thorns. You won’t be disappointed by the rest of the series.

    Happy anniversary! I love that L is getting into books. I hope she stays like that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

