June 2014 Roundup

June was not a bad month reading or blogging-wise, but also not spectacular.  I’ve been on a bit of a fantasy kick lately, which is a new thing for me, but I realized I kind of dig the political intrigue and the badass heroines.  I really can’t think of anything else to say about June.  It was a pretty average month all around.

Books Read:

The Crown of Embers by Rae Carson

She Is Not Invisible by Marcus Sedgwick

The Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie (audio)

Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers

The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson

In the Works: I just started Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo, continuing with my YA fantasy kick.  I am intrigued to see where things go in this world and hey, all three books are published so if I am dying to know what happens next I can actually find out.  I’m also listening to All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill on audiobook because I love the free books through Audio Sync.  We are going on vacation this week, so I will either get a ton of reading done or be so busy that I read nothing.  My plan is to focus on Shadow and Bone and All Fall Down (the Jennifer Weiner novel I have sitting on my Kindle) for my vacation and if I somehow finish both of those… I will start either Siege and Storm or Jojo Moyes’s latest, One Plus One.  When I get home, Landline by Rainbow Rowell should be waiting for me.  I’m really excited for that one, since I have loved everything else she’s ever written.  It should be a month of good books, if only I can make the time to read them!

 

2 thoughts on “June 2014 Roundup

  1. I’m beginning to think that maybe I should only start trilogies/series when all of the books are published. I don’t know if I’m getting old or I read too much, but it is so hard for me to remember what happened when I start a second book in a series! Smart of you to read The Girl of Fire and Thorns and Shadow and Bone series while all 3 are out. Maybe I will binge read GoFaT before school starts.

    Also another YA fantasy series that’s all out is Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I read the first one but might reread so I can binge the whole series.

    • The Daughter of Smoke and Bone books haven’t really appealed to me… but that might be me judging a book by its cover! But I love binge-reading series… I can’t keep track of them as well when they are published far apart!

Leave a Reply

