July 2014 Roundup

This is kind of embarrassing.  I didn’t really realize a month had ended and I needed to do a roundup until I read someone else’s July wrap post and realized it is August.  July was a fun and busy month.  We started the month by going on vacation.  We left the baby with her grandma for 3 days and went to St. Louis to watch baseball, drink beer, sleep in, and eat meals without another human (or dogs) mooching off our plates.  Then we spent a couple days back at my mother-in-law’s doing the family visit thing.  It was so nice to get a vacation, but it wasn’t long enough.  (Are they ever?)  And I ended the month with a very busy week of single momming, social events, and work nonsense.  Somehow I found a way to read 5 books and to more or less enjoy them.  I still am hung up on fantasy, but got distracted trying to finish a couple of the books I’d pre-ordered earlier in the summer.  Blog-wise, I am finally almost caught up on writing reviews and reading slow enough I might actually catch up before I finish another book!

Books Read:

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

All Fall Down by Jennifer Weiner

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill (audio)

Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier

In the Works: I am currently reading Son of the Shadow, the second in Juliet Marillier’s Sevenwaters Trilogy and very much enjoying it.  I think I might have found a new favorite author.  I will save my expounding on that point for my review of Daughter of the Forest, though.  I am listening to Code Name Verity which is beautifully-written, but kind of boring.  I don’t really have future reading plans other than to finish out the Sevenwaters Trilogy.  Marillier’s books are BIG so they take a couple weeks to read, which means my reading pace this month is going to be embarrassingly slow.  Also, classes start at the end of August and I work at a university so work is going to be insane.  I am going to miss my quiet Student Union reading spot on my lunch breaks, but Fall is always a special time on campus.  Watching the new students getting settled in makes me a happy student services employee.  Anyways, here’s to hoping I don’t get TOO far behind on my Goodreads goal this coming month.

 

2 thoughts on “July 2014 Roundup

Leave a Reply

