August 2014 Roundup

Ugh, August.  I think it’s my least favorite month of the year.  Too hot to do anything coupled with back to school insanity.  Reading-wise, it wasn’t a terrible month in that I finished 5 books.  But then I realize that I spent most of the month reading Outlander, which was not really fun for me.  I don’t know why I keep buying these gargantuan books being made into TV shows thinking I will like them.  I don’t.  (See also: Game of Thrones)  I had a rash of book buying this month, between my library’s book sale, Kindle deals, and a trip to Half Price Books to sell off some old books (and you know, buy some new ones while I wait).  I’ve been a much bigger book buyer this year than in years past.  My Kindle Paperwhite is so much better to read on that if money were no object I’d read on it exclusively.

Blog-wise, I’ve got a couple more reviews scheduled, but need to get in gear and review my last month’s worth of reading.  I haven’t had many quiet moments at work to draft posts lately, but we are fast approaching slow season, so soon, hopefully.  I’ve actually been getting a relatively high amount of blog traffic and review requests lately (for me, anyways).  I guess my one backlist review a week strategy is actually catching on?  I wish I had time to read other blogs more.  Or to write posts besides reviews.  Someday.  Maybe.

Books Read:

Son of the Shadows by Juliet Marillier

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein (audio)

Claudette Colvin: Twice Towards Justice by Phillip Hoose (audio)

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Guitar Girl by Sarra Manning

In the Works: I am currently reading a book I picked up at the library sale, Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick, an author I first tried earlier this year and wanted to keep an eye out for.  Mostly I’m reading it because it is short and after Outlander, all I want to do is read short books.  I’m in between audiobooks.  I’ve been thinking about getting an Audible subscription, but I can’t find anyone who has one to share their experience with me.  Hint hint.  

How’s your reading going?  What else is new?  What am I missing out on by slacking on blog-reading?

 

 

Leave a Reply

