My Least Favorites of 2014

I really enjoyed putting my least favorites list together last year (I’m weird like that), so thought I would do it again this year.  As always, this is a matter of taste, so don’t hate me when I skewer your all-time favorite book!

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

I love the TV show, but hated the book.  The writing was tedious and unsophisticated.  The characters were flat.  I slogged through it, hoping it would get better.  It didn’t.  So confusing because this hews really closely to the TV show plot-wise, but the writing was just so abysmal that it completely ruined the story.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

The main character, Alina, was totally blah in this book.  She had no mind of her own, just did whatever other people told her to do.  And it was like I was supposed to think she was clever.  And The Darkling was not a nuanced bad guy at all.  The book was just filled with flat, flimsy characters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Another book I slogged through way too many pages for no payoff.  It was just not my cup of tea.  It’s all gratuitous sex and violence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick

This book was just plain boring, which was strange because most of the book involved one character or another held at gunpoint.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Theory of Opposites by Allison Winn Scotch

The main character, Willa, is absolutely infuriating in this book.  She just kind of flops around life, letting things happen to her.  And the plot and “theory of opposites” experiment that Willa conducts (trying to go with her instinct and make things happen for her) were a bit convoluted.  And I hated the ending.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Until There Was You by Kristan Higgins

It was a romance novel where I didn’t buy that the couple could actually fall in love with each other and overcome their past and personality differences.  And if you don’t buy the characters in a romance, the romance novel doesn’t really work.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Believe by Erin McCarthy

There was a lot of silly stuff in this romance novel.  The couple declares their love for one another way too fast.  In fact, Phoenix tattoos Robin’s FACE on his body after about a month of knowing one another.  Crazy.

What were some of your least favorite reads this year?  It always helps to know what I should avoid!

4 thoughts on “My Least Favorites of 2014

  1. I’ll admit I’m a fan of Outlander. Might have to do with the fact that I read it when I was 17. I tried to start GoT 2 or 3 times and just gave up. But I liked other things I read by GRRM, so I keep hoping I’ll get into GoT, too. But maybe not. There were a lot I started and didn’t finish. Started The Goldfinch, couldn’t finish it. Started Museum of Extraordinary Things. Didn’t finish it. I did give in and read On the Beach because I was curious about the age taboo. I did read it all the way through. Hated myself for it. Very unbelievable, all the way down to the convenient case of toiletry items that washed ashore so that the main characters would always be well groomed while having inappropriate sex. I also couldn’t ever really believe that a 33-year-old woman and a 19 year old man could really have very much in common, no matter what reasons the author came up with to make him abnormally mature for his age.

    • Hahaha, I loved On the Island when I read it a couple years ago! But no clue if I’d still feel that way. I’d probably have liked Outlander a lot more a few years ago, too. I’m becoming super picky on romances these days.

  2. Ironically my first review in forever will post on Thursday and it’s one of these books and I liked it:)

    I may copy this topic in the coming weeks – it’s so much easier to identify why you don’t like something then explain why you do.

    • This was really a year for me to be the odd man out on all kinds of popular books. I want to say I really like fantasy, but it seems to have generated some really big misses for me, too.

Leave a Reply

