Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Book Related Problems

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is Ten Book Related Problems I Have.

1. Library Hold Requests: I go on hold request sprees for library books.  And then all the books come in at the same time and I’m so overwhelmed that I have actual stress about finishing them all.

2. Curse of the Unread Books: If I purchase a large pile of books, I’m likely to only read one or two of them.  Usually I try to only purchase one book at a time, but when I get carried away this ALWAYS happens and I end up with lots of unread books on my shelves.

3. Hyped Books: I am very suspicious of hyped books.  Some of the most hyped books are the ones I disliked the most and then I have to be the Debbie Downer who says “oh yeah, I’ve read that and it was not to my liking.”  But then there’s that whole Fear of Missing Out thing and I have to know what everyone else is talking about, so I force myself to read hyped books anyways.

4. Audiobooks and Critical Listening: I don’t think I’ve developed the same critical skills with audiobooks that I have with written ones yet.  I think I’m getting better at this, the more audiobooks I listen to, but I’m just not as good at telling if something is well-written when listening to it

5. Paperback Books: Paperback (and to some extent hardback) books are really annoying to read while eating.  I do most of my reading on my lunch break and if I’m reading a paperback, I have to prop it open with my phone or my elbow.

6. Slow Starts: I have recently read quite a few books that have started out slow.  This makes it so hard to get into the book, even if there is payoff in the end.

7. Endings: I am pretty picky about book endings, too.  I want the ending to be appropriate to the story, so I don’t want the ending to be too happy if the book had a lot of heavy issues in it.  I don’t want the ending to drag on forever.  I don’t want endings to my mysteries/thrillers to be too obvious.  I want the occasional romance that doesn’t work out.  Like I said: picky.

8. Multiple Viewpoints: So many books with multiple points of view out there and while some are very successful (Liane Moriarty), there are some examples where it takes away from a story.  Nothing wrong with a story told from only one person’s perspective.

9. Magical Realism: I’m not entirely against this, I don’t think, but I can’t think of an example where I actually enjoyed magical realism.  Just not my thing, I guess.

10. Not Enough Time in a Day: I am pretty good about making time to read, but there is never enough time in the day to read everything I want to, as fast as I want to!

 

What are your book related problems?  Link me up to your posts in the comments!

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Book Related Problems

  1. I agree with lots of these. Especially the one about multiple viewpoints. Two or three are okay but anymore can feel like work when keeping track. I am currently writing a book and I am using two view points, I do feel that having only one would be a bad idea for this story. But like you said if it’s necessary it’s a good thing 🙂 Have you read Game of Thrones, I just got confused and found it hard to read and enjoy especially when there was characters I really did not like and wanted to skip their chapters.

  2. Ugh, the hype monster! I feel like I never like hyped books, with the only exceptions maybe being Fangirl and Gone Girl? I always expect something just flat out amazing and they never are.

    I also feel similarly with audiobooks. I feel like I could listen to a more poorly written book over read the print version. Case maybe in point: I listened to most of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and then read the print of The Lost Hero, the first in a sequel series, and didn’t like it as much. I wonder if it’s because I didn’t listen to it? And…is the writing less fun to read? Things I ponder…

Leave a Reply

