Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is the Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR List.

The Ones On Hold at the Library:

        

1. Before I Go by Colleen Oakley– This is about a young married couple and the wife gets bad news that her cancer is terminal and wants to find her husband a new wife before she dies.  It will probably be a tearjerker, but I like love stories featuring married couples so I was curious about it.

2. The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley– Coming of age novel set in 1993 Ireland… I mostly picked it because it is published by an indie press and that is one of the tasks for the Read Harder Challenge.

3. I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios– I’m a little nervous about this one because of all the praise it received from the blogging world, but it’s a YA contemp featuring a girl who wants to get the heck out of dodge and a guy who has returned home after being injured in the military.

4. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie– This is also a pick for the Read Harder Challenge, in the category of author from Africa.  I don’t know a whole lot about it, but it involves two Nigerian teens who emigrate, one to the US and one to England and then later meet back up and rekindle the romance they started back home.

5. Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty– I am on a quest to read all of Liane Moriarty’s books.  This is one of two I have left… it’s about a set of triplets who are turning 33 and is described as a “family comedy.”

The Ones on My Audible Wishlist:

     

6. Why Can’t I Be You by Allie Larkin–  This is about a girl who is mistaken for someone else and decides to just go with it, pretending to fit into someone else’s life.  I enjoyed Larkin’s Stay on audiobook and this has the same narrator, Julia Whelan, so this seems like a natural choice.

7. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson– This is also narrated by Julia Whelan and I want to read it because I liked Jandy Nelson’s writing.  It’s about a teen girl whose sister dies and how she deals with that grief.

8. The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton– I’ve been wanting to try a Kate Morton book and this is narrated by Caroline Lee, who I really enjoy.  I’m a little vague on the plot… girl inherits a house and a book and there is a mystery to be solved.

Spring 2015 New Releases:

  

9. Galileo’s Middle Finger by Alice Dreger– This non-fiction books sounds intriguing, as it’s a little about medical ethics in relation to intersex patients, and it’s a little bit about scientific research that conflicts with activist agendas, and it’s a little bit about the author’s personal experiences with activism and academia.

10. It’s Not Me It’s You by Mhairi McFarlane– I really like Mhairi McFarlane’s books and am eagerly awaiting this one’s U.S. release.  It’s about a girl whose life is shaken up when she finds out her long term boyfriend has been cheating on her and it’s time to quit playing it so safe.

What’s on your Spring TBR?  Read any of these and have feedback?  As always, be sure to link me up to your posts in the comments!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR List

  1. I’ve actually read some great things about Oakley’s Before I Go, Larkin’s Why Can’t I Be You, and McFarlane’s It’s Not You It’s Me – others too, but these really stand out to me and are also ones that I want to read as soon as possible! I like your list today, I could pick books straight from it. (:

  2. I haven’t read THE FORGOTTEN GARDEN yet, but I think that Caroline Lee narrates all the Kate Morton books. And she has done at least a couple of Liane Moriarty’s too. I’ve seen BEFORE I GO around and hope to get to it at some point. Good luck with your list!

    • I have listened to Caroline Lee on a couple of Liane Moriarty’s books and she brought a lot to the stories, so I’m looking forward to trying out Kate Morton, too.

  3. I’m almost scared to read your top 10’s anymore – I know I’ll find more books to add to my TBR list. I’ll probably add 1 and 2. They both sound interesting and I hadn’t settled on a book for the indie press category yet.

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Recently Added to My TBR List | Don't Take My Books Away

Leave a Reply

