Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Recently Added to My TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is Ten Books You Recently Added To Your To-Be-Read List.

So I tried to limit myself to books I’ve added to my TBR in the last month or two that I didn’t include on my Spring TBR list.  I almost undoubtedly will never read even half of these, but I can at least say this is what has caught my attention recently.

 

            

1. All Joy and No Fun by Jennifer Senior– This is a book about how being a parent affects the parent.  I love the title and well, I always feel like I should be reading more parenting books than I actually do.

2. Endlessly by Kiersten White– I recently finished the first two books in the Paranormalcy trilogy and plan on finishing it out sooner or later.

3. The Storyspinner by Becky Wallace– I… can’t remember what this is about. *checks Goodreads*  I think I saw this on some TTT lists and it is fantasy with a female lead and political intrigue and I’m a sucker for those things.

4. Burned by Ellen Hopkins– I have been dipping my toes into novels/memoirs in verse and this is one of those that gets mentioned frequently in that category.

              

5. Black River by S.M. Hulse– I saw some good things about this on Goodreads.  It’s a Western about a guy who was a prison guard and was attacked in a prison riot and how he deals with returning to town and facing the convict who attacked him and is now up for parole.  I am intrigued by the setting and the themes that could be explored here- redemption, forgiveness, nature of good/evil, etc.

6. Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid– This isn’t out until July, but it’s one of those women’s fiction books with a “what if” premise that I tend to like… it tells concurrent storylines of what would happen if the character made one decision or another.

7. The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson– I have seen this narrative non-fiction book around for some time now and it sounds interesting.  It’s about an architect and a serial killer at the Chicago World’s Fair.  I might snag it from Audible when I get my next credit.

8. Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum– This one has been making the rounds in the book world.  It’s the story of an American wife and mother living in Switzerland and she’s bored and unhappy and starts having affairs and letting her life spin out of control.  It’s not my usual fare, but it piqued my curiosity.

    

9. Blankets by Craig Thompson– I need to read a graphic novel for my reading challenge this year and I think I’m going with this one, when my hold from the library gets in.  This is a coming of age story about love and religion and siblings and I have heard it’s incredibly touching, so I’m excited to try it out.

10. A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab– Everybody was talking about this book when it released.  I want to check out the hype, though I’m not entirely sure what it’s about.  Something about different Londons and magic.

What have you added to your TBR recently?  Have you read/do you recommend any of these on my list?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Recently Added to My TBR List

  1. I’ve been hearing some good buzz about The Storyspinner. And Maybe in Another Life and Hausfrau look fantastic. I borrowed Blankets from the library because I wanted to read more graphic novels but I didn’t get to finish it before it was due. Fun list!

  2. I just finished A Darker Shade of Magic earlier today. I loved it!

    I’d recommend Endlessly and The Storyspinner, too. It’s been a couple of years since I read Endlessly, but I read The Storyspinner earlier this month and it was amazing.

  3. What a great list! Several titles are new to me, but they sound like books I might like. I highly recommend Blankets when you can get to it. I keep hearing good things about Hausfrau. And Black River is one I am curious about.

  4. All Joy and No Fun looks great! I’m a new parent and I’m all about parenting books right now! Thanks for introducing me to this sure to be great read! 🙂

Leave a Reply

