March 2015 Roundup

March was a crazy month.  It started out with ice and snow and the college I work at being closed.  And then it was Spring Break, which I don’t actually get off work, but my spouse and child and sister do, so there were some family lunches that week.  And then it was my daughter’s second birthday, so we took the day off to take her out for a day of kid fun and there were also several grandparent visits surrounding that day.  And I started taking zumba classes once a week.  And work has gotten really busy.  And I was involved in organizing a canned food drive for my office.  And I found out yesterday that I got a promotion of sorts at work and will be starting in a new role come Monday.  So basically, life has been incredibly crazy.

But I’ve still been doing a lot of reading.  I hit a bit of a slump in late February/early March, but then discovered the super fun books of Kiersten White and devoured several of them and kicked myself out of my slump.  I also managed to have a fairly successful blogging month, getting caught up on reviews at one point (not so much any more) and participating in some fun link-ups like Top Ten Tuesday and A Day in the Life.  I’m kind of hopelessly behind on replying to comments/reading other blogs, but with everything else going on, I guess something has to give.

Books Read:

Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai

Unsticky by Sarra Manning (reread)

Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

Lost & Found by Brooke Davis (audio)

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Why Can’t I Be You by Allie Larkin (audio)

Supernaturally by Kiersten White

The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley

In the Works: I’m currently reading Before I Go by Colleen Oakley.  I have only read one chapter, but the writing is very readable, even if I’m already a little wary that it’s going to misrepresent academia (the character already said she’s writing a dissertation for her master’s degree in counseling… umm, no, we don’t call them that), which is kind of a pet peeve of mine since I’ve spent the last 12 years of my life either attending or working at a university, so I know the lingo and the experience pretty well.  I’m also listening to a non-fiction tome on audiobook called Debt: The First 5,000 Years, which is interesting, but requires a lot more brain power than I usually have when I’m listening to audiobooks.

I don’t really anticipate being good blogger (meaning I’ll continue to be behind on reviews and I will probably not do a whole lot of reading/commenting either) in the month of April since I will be learning a whole new job and probably helping out a bit with my old job tasks until they rehire the position.  Also, I have some travel and family obligations most weekends this month, so basically, I don’t see myself having a lot of free time to myself right now, unfortunately.  But I will be back at it eventually, I hope.

What’s going on in your reading lives?

 

Leave a Reply

