Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite New-to-Me Authors 2012

Top Ten Tuesday button

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme brought to you by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish (the button also belongs to them).  This week’s theme is the Top Ten Favorite New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2012.

1. Rainbow Rowell– I really enjoyed Attachments and am impatiently awaiting her next novel, Eleanor & Park.  Also, she’s funny on the twitter.

2. John Green– He writes smart-funny characters.  I like that.

3. Gary D. Schmidt– I was a big fan of both The Wednesday Wars and Okay for Now.  He’s definitely Newberry worthy.

4.Erin McCarthy– I loved her racecar driver romance series and she’s definitely made my list of new favorite romance authors.

5.Sherman Alexie– I listened to him read the audiobook version of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian and really appreciated him as a narrator and author.  I’m definitely looking forward to exploring some of his short story collections, as I like his perspective on res life.

6. Janet Evanovich– I finally started (and got addicted to) the Stephanie Plum series.  I’m really amazed by Evanovich’s ability to write sexual tension… I don’t think I’ve ever cared about the same romantic tensions after that many books before!

7. Neal Shusterman– Unwind is definitely among my favorite books I read this year.  While I was less impressed by the book of Shusterman’s I read outside the Unwind series, I think he’s a solid writer and I’m willing to give the others in his large library of works a chance.

8.Gillian Flynn– I’ve only read Gone Girl, but you know what?  If she can mess with my mind that good, she’s one hell of a writer!

9. L.M. Montgomery– While I slog through the Anne Shirley books at a snail’s pace, they are really beautiful books about childhood and I definitely want to share her books with Baby Girl when she’s old enough!

10. Patrick Ness– I read the Chaos Walking series and A Monster Calls early this year… really good stuff and books I want to reread someday!

Which authors have become must-reads for you this year?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite New-to-Me Authors 2012

  1. Love your list! I’ve got Eleanor & Park waiting on me to read; when I’m finished I can send it to you if you’d like! 🙂

    I feel like I really need to read the Stephanie Plum books; I have so many friends who love them!

    • Oh yes, please send Eleanor & Park when you are done– that would be awesome! And I think you’d enjoy the sense of humor in the Stephanie Plum books… they’re fun/fast reads. Though the first one surprised me with how violent and adult it is, so save it for when you’re in an adult frame of mind, haha.

  2. Great line-up of authors! We have Gillian Flynn in common, and Gone Girl just blew my mind. I’m listening to Attachments on audio now and it’s so cute. And I hope to get to the Alexie book in the new year.

    • Gone Girl was crazy, I definitely need to check out Flynn’s other works and look forward to seeing what she’s got up her sleeves next! And try to find Alexie’s book on audio… I loved his narration!

  3. oh wow, amazing list! Rainbow Rowell, John Green, LM Montgomery 🙂 also, love Erin McCarthy and Janet Evanovich. 🙂 I have the Eleanor and Park and when I read it, I could send it to you, if you’d like 🙂

    • I would love to share Eleanor & Park when you finish. I’m totally going to buy it when it comes out, but the waiting is killing me! Maybe I need to reread Attachments in the meantime.

  4. I love John Green. TFIOS was one of my top 5 reads this year. And Gillian Flynn made my list too! I did her as an audio book and fell in love. Creepy Love. ha.

    I have to say I tried Stephanie Plum via audio book last year and I just wasn’t a fan. I couldn’t get into the series. Sad because I really did like the first two books…

  5. I read Attachments based on your recommendation and liked/loved it so much I bought it to give to a friend for Christmas. As always, yay Sherman Alexie and Janet Evanovich. I am still waiting my turn for the Kindle version of Gone Girl from the library. I could give up and buy it, but its become a “thing” now. I have to wait. I’m, like, down to 300 and something in line. that’s down from like 700 and something. Will see if my library has the shusterman books.

    • So glad you liked Attachments so much! And I understand waiting for Gone Girl… I did the same thing, though I think I was only ever at 250th in line for something like 20 copies. haha, you’ll get there… in the meantime, there are plenty of other books competing for your attention. I’m pretty sure you’ll like the Unwind series, so I hope you find it!

Leave a Reply

