Anne of Avonlea Read-along

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday had us listing series we hadn’t finished.  Alison at The Cheap Reader and I both lamented not making it past the first Anne Shirley book and decided to do a read-along of Anne of Avonlea to encourage one another along in the series.

We are planning on starting the read-along in November or December and everyone is welcome to join in.  If you’ve failed to complete this series or just want to re-read some Anne Shirley, this is the perfect opportunity to do so.  Let us know in the comments if you would like to join in and whether November or December works better for you.  We’re going to keep this pretty low-key… just read the book!

Need further motivation?  Anne of Avonlea is in the public domain (!) and is available for free (!) on your ereader here.

5 thoughts on “Anne of Avonlea Read-along

  1. Despite my LOVE of historical fiction, I have never read the “real” version of Anne of Green Gables. I had an illustrated classics version as a kid, but that’s a much more condensed version. This is the perfect motivation to read it and then do the read-along of Anne of Avonlea! I’ve always thought I would love the series, so I guess it’s time to find out! Great idea!

  2. I’ve read all the Anne books a few times, but I wouldn’t mind reading them again! My favorite is Rilla of Ingleside, but I own an original edition of Anne of Avonlea that my grandmother bought at a yard sale.

Leave a comment